Now Liking Gangnam Style is Racist???

At least you know I’m not racist – that song is F’in annoying, as is this article in the NY Times about suddenly famous Psy, the Korean rapper responsible for this ridiculously popular (and yeah, okay, hilarious) video.  I don’t know why I bothered linking that video; you’re probably one of the 410 million who’ve already seen it, and possibly even one of the almost 4 million who’ve “liked” it.  I’m sorry to inform you, but that may mean you’re racist.

See, according to some twerp quoted in the Times article,

“Psy is the ‘Asian man who makes it’ because he fits neatly into our pop cultural milieu wherein Asian men are either kung-fu fighters, Confucius-quoting clairvoyants or the biggest geeks in high school.”

I thought this article, “A South Korean Star, and the Horse He Rode In On” was supposed to be about this new hot rapper, but no – it’s about how his fans might be unconsciously categorizing him as a Pandaren, or something.  Nice way to trick people into reading your insults, NY Times blogger Mark McDonald.  OH, I get it – the horse is a metaphor for racism!

To be fair, McDonald also quotes people who say you might not be racist after all, because:

  • the video is really funny;
  • you probably weren’t the intended audience anyway, unless you’re South Korean; and
  • Psy doesn’t seem to take himself too seriously.

But if YOU don’t take him seriously, you’re… hang on a sec, let me make sure I get this right… oh yeah, racist.  You’ve been influenced by the “popular Western media[, which] doesn’t tend to take east Asian men seriously.”  And it’s a shame that,

“What is missing from much commentary on Psy’s video is the existing American cultural context that embraces stereotypes of Asians while rejecting more realistic portrayals.”

Did you include your thoughts on Neo-Orientalism in your YouTube comment?  Well then, you have some reflecting to do, don’t you?

Honestly, I don’t take Psy very seriously – then again, I don’t take most rappers very seriously.  [That’s probably indicative of unconscious racism according to someone whose opinion is irrelevant.]  And I normally wouldn’t take Mark McDonald very seriously, even though his article was published in the NY Times, because the Times has been mostly crap for years.  But the gaping hole in this theory that he inexplicably presents as legit is so ridiculous, I had to highlight it:

Somehow, the Western media almost exclusively portrays Asian men as “kung-fu fighters, Confucius-quoting clairvoyants or the biggest geeks in high school,” yet simultaneously does not take them seriously.

I don’t know about you, but I take Kung Fu fighters, Confucius-quoting clairvoyants and the biggest geeks in high school VERY seriously.  Who wouldn’t take an MMA-guru-CEO seriously???

I know, I know.  I’m racist.*  Bad, bad werewolf.

*Except for judging people based on race – that part I don’t do.  It’s just all the other things, like thinking Affirmative Action makes no sense if it benefits Carlton Banks at the expense of some poor white kid.

Leave a Reply

