Ministry of Diversity

Obama’s created the Office of Diversity, Inclusion; I feel so warm and fuzzy all over I just want to hug everyone!

“The goal is to eliminate demographic group imbalances in targeted occupations and improve workforce diversity. To attain this, special initiatives have been created targeting specific groups, including Hispanics, African Americans, American Indians, women and gays and lesbians. The idea is to create a workforce that truly reflects America’s diversity, according to the Obama Administration.”

Questions:  Is there an imbalance in workforce diversity?  If so, why?

If anyone is going to join the workforce, he or she must be qualified for a job.  Let’s start with rural minority kids (What about the white underprivileged rural boys?  Lemme guess: Uhhh, next question please).  As for Native American kids, I’m willing to bet organizations like Teach for America do more to help them than Obama ever could.  But I have to ask – if your goal is to make the “workplace” more diverse, and you’re going to try to get more Native Americans in this diverse “workplace,” isn’t that a bit like forced assimilation?   I guess it didn’t occur to Obama to ask whether or not they want his help.  Maybe they think he’s a douchebag city-slicker who wouldn’t know real work if it came up behind him and whooped his ass.  Or maybe they don’t.  But I do.

I have a feeling the inner city (usually minority) kids who live off free school meals (blech!) at institutions where they learn more about violence and drugs than prepositions or matrices aren’t going to qualify for nice office jobs when they grow up.  If Obama wants to promote workforce diversity, he needs to do so from the ground up, not the top down.  Give the kids who want to improve themselves school vouchers so they can escape terrible unsafe schools!

Oh, but that’s not necessary – Obama’s going to MAKE it all better, with hope.  And a committee of bureaucrats!  Thank goodness.

And how exactly is this office going to promote the inclusion of gays and lesbians?  Homosexual quotas?  I’ve had so many gay coworkers and managers that the idea is laughable.  Sorry for the momentary optimism, but I honestly believe there’s a place for everyone, and most people want the most competent person for the job (except for those who just want a kiss-ass), regardless of race or sexuality or gender identity.  Now, I have heard people raise a ruckus because they don’t want their kids taught by gay teachers, but that’s a topic worthy of its own post.  I’ll just say for now that several of my gay friends/acquaintances are teachers and things seem to be working out well for them.  The situation for homosexual educators is far from hopeless, and would be even farther, if the economy didn’t SUCK.  Hey Obama, wanna help gay people get jobs?  Stop fucking up the economy!  Of wait, I forgot – the crappy economy isn’t your fault; you’re merely a puppet.  Sorry.

As for women, we’re fine, thank you.  We’re more than fine, actually, since girls routinely outperform boys in school.  Maybe you could stop alienating the future men of America, many of whom do not even know what it means to be a man?  Seriously, the best thing you can do for women is stop pretending we need your help.  I don’t need to prove to any man that I’m just as smart or capable as he is; usually, I am more smart, but can still learn things from men, and I’m more capable at some things, less so at others.  That’s reality, and it’s okay.  If you really want to help women, HELP MEN.  I’m fucking sick of these sad lamewad excuses for men with their self-satisfied attitudes and lack of accomplishments.  They remind me of- well, actually, they remind me of you.

Please stop trying to help.  With everything.  It’s clear you don’t understand reality, or that it’s impossible to impose your ideals on the world, no matter how nice they may be.  I also want workplace diversity, and I experience it every day I’m at work, without your involvement.  I would experience it MORE OFTEN, were I employed full-time.

Speaking of which, what happened to all those jobs you created?  And what do the folks who filled those jobs do when Michelle is away on vacay?

Leave a Reply

